I Don’t Believe I’m on the Eve of Dementia: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

Few who are suffering from this disease can say this with any force of conviction, much less remember that it’s even evening, or that the last word was supposed to be “Destruction”. Malapropism is fun, but not when your brain, along with your body, is failing you…

Each week The Sunday Whirl invites writers to write a poem or short prose using some or all of the β€œwordle’s” 12 words. This week it is:

wordle's words

Wordle’s words


 
I Don’t Believe I’m on the Eve of Dementia: Malapropism

Rickety-rackety-roue.
There’s a rift in my bones, I say phoo-ey.
I hate to complain,
but I cannot sustain
how longing I’m getting mildew-y

So downward and downwards I go.
I stutter, my language is slow.
I’m baffled each night
as my fears each take flight.
Wickedly-whackingly-whoa.

Like the horse placed in front of the cart,
Roll me off of that cliff, please have heart.
It’s not a malaprop
to have an absence of “Stop!”
‘Cause it’s well past the time to depart.


Randy Mazie

19 thoughts on “I Don’t Believe I’m on the Eve of Dementia: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

        • When I saw a spot on your blog about contributing, I figured you had some involvement.

          I watched my dad deteriorate for about 6 long years. Very sad, But in the midst of it, we did have a few oases in the desert. He could sing if i started a song, and then he’d remember all the words on his own. What a joy to sing to together. Or, dance. Or speak gibberish to each other – and he’d laugh until he’d start to cough.and so did I. There were other moments we grab, but that is for another time.

          Thanks for helping me remember.

          Randy

Have some fun...