Many an Apple Fell: Julia’s Place 100WCGU

What is 100WCGU? Each week there is a prompt: a few connected words, a selection of individual words or a picture. You have 100 words in order to write a creative piece.

This week’s prompt is: (see this week’s prompt site by clicking here) … as the apple fell…


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Michelangelo_AdamandEve_SistineChapel
 

Many an Apple Fell

… as the apple fell….
In this case plucked down from the tree.
The snake crawled. Adam bit Eve’s entreaty.

….the apple fell….
On Newton while he sipped his tea,
A bump rose grave, and named it grav-i-tea

….the apple….
Split sunder from an arrow’s swell,
Off the fruitful head of L’il William Tell

….the apple which….
The witch’s spell did soon dismiss
Snow White, whose lips would bear a princely kiss

…and apples fell….
“For I have had too much,” wrote Frost.
“Ten thousand fruit were touched…” and some were lost

And I am done with apple felling now.

Randy Mazie

35 thoughts on “Many an Apple Fell: Julia’s Place 100WCGU

  1. Adam bit Eve’s entreaty? Wow, I didn’t know that ! I once had a woman who bit my…. It still hurts when I think about it. Oh yeah, liked your take. But then, if I didn’t, I wouldn’t be here!

    • Wait, Paul, did I mispell entitty?

      …no, I’m sure I spelled it write. How many hits will I get on this post for muspelling today? How did you finally make out? Make out? Hitting on? That’s what Adam was doing with Eve’s entreaty – bit by bit, or was it bite by bite? Those were some apples, no?

      • OK, I don’t like you anymore! I tried to be nice. Tried to pay you a compliment. I bet you were a bully as a kid. Or maybe you were bullied! So I’ve decided I’m not going to follow you anymore. We’ll just call it stalking. I’m going to stalk you.Oh and yes, Eve had some great apples!

        • Ha. Temper, Paul, temper.
          Bully? As Lincoln wrote, “I wish to be neither master nor slave.” I have enough trouble managing my own life – much less my words (and perish – my thoughts or actions).

          And yes, oh my, we share the same tastes in apples. Eve had some gorgeous apples.

          Please reconsider not following me. Lead if you will, but let’s stay friends at least.
          I’ve changed my name to Jack so we could be Jack and the (bean) stalk-er… (pa dum dum)

    • They are fruits of passion, wisdom, challenge, temptation, sweetness and life.

      ee cummings might have re-posed the word as appl-icious; the world is appl-icious.

      Thanks for coming by. Hope to see you comment again soon. Randy

Have some fun...