The Fruits of Comedy (Friday Fictioneers)

Friday Fictioneers – Madison Woods posts a picture that begs to have a 100 word story written about it.

I’ve posted mine below. Visit Madison Woods’ site if you’d like to see and/or learn more.

The Fruits of Comedy

“We were terrible.”
“Lenny, we weren’t that bad.”
“Jack, I know terrible when I hear it.”
“I heard a lot of laughter in the audience.”
“Yeah, laughing at us.”
“No, really laughing.”
“How many? Two?”
“Yeah, two out of the three people there… (Da-da-dum).”
“Ha.”
“Lenny, the house was packed.”
“Jack, what are these bushes?”
“We’re getting ready for tonight’s show.”
“Tonight’s show? We’re not going to do it again?”
“Yes we are, but tonight we’ll have our own raspberries ready to give right back to ‘em.”
“For someone who doesn’t know Jack, Jack. I like how you think.”

Randy Mazie

24 thoughts on “The Fruits of Comedy (Friday Fictioneers)

  1. That was funny! I think that I might have been in a few of those shows. Matinee performances should never exist, anyway! Children’s shows in the afternoon. Adults’ shows in the evening. One performance of either per twenty-four hours and never the twain shall meet. Hear! Hear! for the raspberries!

    My story’s on the list.

  2. Ahhh… love it..took me down memory lane. With a theatrical background, I’ve seen this routine played out hundreds of times. And of course, there is/was the Borscht Belt in the Catskills. Thanks for the memories and chuckles. I’m on the list.

  3. I’ve been listening to a lot podcasts lately of comedians explaining the unique terrors of live comedy and this so confirms what they’ve been saying! Loved that last line!

Have some fun...

