The Boys Who Had Too Much Time on Their Hands: Friday Fictioneers

Too much time can be… Well, you decide for yourself.

Each week Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.

This week it’s the opposite of that old Stones’ tune: “Time, time, time, is not on my side.”

ยฉ Roger Bultot

ยฉ Roger Bultot

The Boys Who Had Too Much Time on Their Hands

The slight redheaded boy squealed, “I swear there was a time machine here. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have brought you, Morley.”

“I believe you, Eli.” His broad-shouldered friend replied. “Let’s pry those doors open and see if it’s inside.”

“I’m not sure I want to, Morley. Sun’s going down, the grass is a foot higher than it was, and that building on the right looks 100 years older than before.”

“You scared, Eli?”

“Darn right. I think that time machine must be close by and working. Morley, you’re looking as old as my dadโ€ฆ”

“Ha. You don’t look so young yourself, kid.”


Randy Mazie

35 thoughts on “The Boys Who Had Too Much Time on Their Hands: Friday Fictioneers

  1. It’s so authentic to boy behavior. I had girls but my friends had boys. When we would visit each other the boys found it hard to stay indoors (pre-computers) and visit. They were high energy. This story take these boys into another dimension. Really good story. I could have read more.
    Isadora ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  2. Dear Randy,

    Those poor boys. I hope they can collect Social Security or something. Funny how, when we’re kids, we want to be older and then…ah well, I’ll refrain from being an adult for as we know “Growing up is inevitable. Growing up is optional.” That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Leave it to you, my dear, to come up with the social security angle.

      I bet after this they won’t want to grow up so quickly.

      In fact, the follow-up story may be from Peter Pan and all of them singing, ” I won’t grow up!”

      Randy

Have some fun...

