When Love Loses Its Hold: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

a slow adulterated love sonnet…

Each week The Sunday Whirl invites writers to write a poem or short prose using some or all of the “Wordle’s” 12 words. This week it is:

Wordle's words

Wordle’s words

When Love Loses Its Hold

You were not the first dawn to fill my day;
nor the only river to make me pause;
not the only red cleft plain of clay;
But you were the one who gave me cause.

I watched your stalks grow high upon a field;
And in summer’s heat, I felt the sting of flies;
Yearning to lie down, inside to yield;
I waited for your harvest, waiting wise.

Naked now, I stand in winter’s cold;
Stripped of wants with clarity;
You are the reaper of my world, and truth be told –
There is none other with your parity.

Years have passed on silvered wings, and I am old;
Gone is the love from spring; love’s lost its hold.

Randy Mazie

16 thoughts on “When Love Loses Its Hold: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

    • Thank you.
      North Dakota,eh?
      The Dakota building in NYC in which John Lennon, among many other celebrities, lived was named The Dakota because it was so far north at that time in Manhattan that it was said that it could have been in The Dakotas.
      Randy

  1. Metaphorically, the piece is stunning–& I get the sense of wandering in the badlands. You conveyed a lot in short order. I like the lines /stripped of wants with clarity/you are the reaper of my world, & truth be told/there is none other with your parity/.

Have some fun...

