Making Life Count: Friday Fictioneers

A petite jaunt into existentialism: a small hand salute to Sartre, the French, and living…

Each week Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.

This week it’s: an existential thing.

Β© C.E. Ayr

Β© C.E. Ayr

Making Life Count

Why are you marking these grates?
I am keeping count.
Of what?
The grates. Why do you ask?
Mere curiosity. Why do you count?
What else would I do?
Something substantial. Or, maybe just live life to its fullest.
Who then will mark the grates?
I am certain I do not know. But, what will you do when you’re done?
I haven’t considered that. I guess I will number the next thing. Do you think the number of grates is limited?
For sure.
Is that why you say live life to its fullest?
Precisely. Everything is limited.
Then I prefer to count.

Randy Mazie

41 thoughts on “Making Life Count: Friday Fictioneers

  1. Numbering things seems to be essential to him, so who says that he is not living life to its fullest-the way he sees it. Interesting story (and I don’t know much about Sartre either).

  2. he better talk to his lawyer. marking grates could be considered vandalism in some cities. but come to think of it, it’s a skill that would come handy when he marks his days in prison. πŸ™‚

Have some fun...

