An Artist’s Path to the Sea: Friday Fictioneers

Some people see things where others don’t, some people create things where others don’t see them, and then some people just don’t create or see, but they like to go to the sea…

Each week Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.

This week it’s sea-soned humor…

Β© C. Hase

Β© C. Hase

An Artist’s Path to the Sea

Arriving at the seaside inn, Peter spied a row of “I-don’t-know-what-the-heck-that-is” in the sand along rocky cliffs to the ocean.
Scratching his head, Peter said, “Looks like poop.”
Nora rolled her eyes. “Looks like cast iron. I see dolphins, whale and crocodile tails. An artist’s path to the sea.”
“All that?”
Nora nodded, typically indicating that Peter had no imagination.
“And my dear,” Peter retorted, “What does that horseshoe-shaped ‘A’ stand for?”
Without hesitating, Nora replied, “The artist put that there just for you. It stands for ‘Assho…’ ”
Peter spun her quickly towards the ocean, saying, “OK. Enough out of you.”

Randy Mazie

57 thoughts on “An Artist’s Path to the Sea: Friday Fictioneers

    • Ever been out on a baffle?
      it’s baffling
      A quarter for some imagination? And then I imagine, like football, you’ll be wanting your quarterback!
      Don’t bother – you can’t buy imagination with money.
      But I can imagine what I could do with it.

      Randy

  1. When my youngest son (he’s 23 now) was in high school we “redid” his room. I bought him these letters to hang on the wall. They were his initials. His first name is Andrew and the letters never did get hung up they laid on the end table in the living room for the longest time. Whenever I would get especially aggravated with the way he was acting I would pick up the A and hold it up to him like you would hold a cross to a vampire and say “You think this stands for Andrew but it doesn’t!”

  2. Hah, this is perfect. This should be a piece of art, just as you described it, that would be great. I only saw the chain, and the links, and learned how they are made… you saw way beyond that.

    • So – you see men as objects to be used.
      I like that. Reverse sexist thinking.
      Peter has informed me that he has now left Nora and has asked me to tell you that he is at your service!
      He is shouting “Use me. Use me now” in the background!

      Any thing you’s like me to tell him?
      Your email address, your cell, may be your real address?

    • Good relationships, I think, have some similarities, some shared backgrounds, some differing interests, opposing personalities in many respects, and a certain degree of tolerance and the ability to express dislike mixed in with some trust and respect.

      It’s all very simple – wouldn’t you agree?

      Randy

    • As i was saying to aliciajamtaas – good relationships, I think, have some similarities, some shared backgrounds, some differing interests, opposing personalities in many respects, and a certain degree of tolerance and the ability to express dislike mixed in with some trust and respect.

      It’s all very simple – wouldn’t you agree?

      Randy

  3. Well, there you are. I missed the A altogether and just saw some exceedingly large chains lying on a beach, started to wonder what might lie at the other end of them (sea monster, maybe), thought about how much they weighed … and so it went on, until I moved on to consider what chains symbolised.
    I often wonder if my life would be far less tiring if I went into less depths about everything.
    Your story is a breath of fresh air and decidedly humorous in tone, yet it says a great deal about how opposites often attract. I get the feeling that Nora and Pete have been carrying on like that for years and will do so until death do them part.

    • Is your life tiring?
      Consider things in too much depth? Need a breath of fresh air?

      Come visit my blog each week.
      One weekly dose will, guaranteed, put you back on a simpler path to a mindless and uncomplicated life.

      And for $39.95, i will send you my FREE video of all the missing “A”s in our lives today-starting with “Abandon” all the way to “Axle”, which we will teach you how not to get bent around.

      Come join Nora and Pete in their weekly “How to See Life Simply” series. Sign up today.

Have some fun...

