The Brown Bird Song: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

A simple act in nature can set off a revolution…

Each week The Sunday Whirl invites writers to write a poem or short prose using some or all of the “Wordle’s” 12 words. This week it is:

Wordle's words

Wordle’s words

The Brown Bird Song

I watched the brown bird take shelter,
after warbling, I like to believe,
just for me; a shining performance, really.
It sang with great joy, calling out a new day, and
I, in turn, wanted stand up
and bird-sing back to it: that
if I could dedicate my life to something greater than myself,
it would be you.

I lost my resolve
when the orange and black cat scrambled up the tree after it.
Life’s design is that, though there is beauty
in the everyday, the everyday is
still part of the hunt,

Always a revelation to me,
in review of the world,
that a revolution may start with a birdsong, but
end up as a no win
situation.

Randy Mazie

7 thoughts on “The Brown Bird Song: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

  1. We are such silly beings trying to impart our pathetic feelings on creatures when survival is their prime goal. The cat doesn’t sing after it has eaten…it sleeps!

    • Does the worm have anything to say after the bird has wicked it from the ground – other than ouch?

      Is it not our prime goal to survive, too, and not have all of us become fodder for the other? Supposedly, we have a higher consciousness than animals which allows for “higher” striving than survival.

      Thanks for thinking and responding to this one,. Randy

  2. I think the brown bird is a good strong soul to follow…I love how you play with the notion of revolution..I believe it starts with those little creatures we so easily fail to see…or hear! (Well, not you of course..you saw him/her)

Have some fun...

