Bugging Out: Friday Fictioneers

Three, no four, different twists on a bugging out theme…

Each week Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.

This week it be bugging out humor.

 Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Make a Wish:
Three decades of stories about Bugging Out

The 1940’s:

“Well, Ollie, here we are again…”
Ollie scratches his head.
“What a fine mess you got us into this time.”
Ollie’s crying.
“I ask you to do one simple thing. Throw out that lantern, but nooooo, you got to blow the dust off it.”
Ollie, spittle flying, “B-b-b-but…”
“But nothing, then you rubbed the lamp to shine it, the genie appeared, and turned us into bugs.”
“Stan, all I said was, genie, I wish you wouldn’t bug us. And..”
Ollie whimpers,
“The dust must have gotten in his ears for him to think I said I wished you would bug us.”
Ollie wails.

The 1950’s

Ricky: Lu-u-ucy, wha’ did joo do?
Lucy: Aww, Ricky don’t get sore. I hate when you’re sore.
Ricky: But, Lucy, we are bugs. What did joo do?
Lucy: I can explain everything.
Ricky: So s’esplain away.
Lucy: Eee-yew! Do you believe in magic, Ricky?
Ricky; LU-U-U-CY!

The 1960’s

Darren: Sam, Is that you?
Samantha; Er, I’m afraid so, Darren.
Darren: We’re bugs?
Samantha whispers her mother’s name (Endora).
Darren looks around raising his eyebrow: Sam, we’re bugs!
Now Samantha cries aloud in desperation: Endora!
Darren: Where is she? I’m going to kill her!
Samantha: Now, Darren. It wasn’t like you didn’t say, I wish she’d stop bugging us!”

And today it’s “Buggin’ Out” by A Tribe Called Quest
“Buggin’ Out” on YouTube

Randy Mazie
Chief Bugger

24 thoughts on “Bugging Out: Friday Fictioneers

  1. Dear Randy,
    I thoroughly enjoyed this time-travel through television programs of the past. Great stuff and a truly creative take on the prompt. I especially like the way you captured the essence of each of the three shows. Well done.
    All my best,
    Marie Gail

Have some fun...

