Deprivation: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

Deprived of light, I live in a merlot haze…

Each week The Sunday Whirl invites writers to write a poem or short prose using some or all of the “wordle’s” 12 words. This week it is:

Wordle's words

Wordle’s words

Deprivation

I live in an aphotic cave.
A merlot haze
like a rank velvet cape covers me.
I am a chained and fading protagonist wanting to rise
once more against an  outer world.

I am deranged. Indicted.
Charging in a feigning darkness
what you declare to be a systematic light.
How I wish to strike at the
cold brusque strains of inequity.

So, yes, I traipse the twilight.
I filet dreams.
I exchange pecuniary wishes:

for green visions of guileless meadows,
unfettered flames holding in the distance;

for sustained reprieves from corporate wantonness.

Randy Mazie

3 thoughts on “Deprivation: The Sunday Whirl – Wordle

  1. Deprivation of the soul maybe harder to fight than the corporate masses that create it…but such a feast of words (aphotic being my favourite)..i think there are a few of us in a merlot haze…maybe that’s good at times

Have some fun...

