Ah, What is Happiness, Grasshopper? Friday Fictioneer

Sometimes things aren’t what they seem. So don’t break anyone’s chop sticks until you’ve walked a while through their noodles…

Friday Fictioneers โ€“ Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a pic each week to write a 100 word story about.

This week, it’s humor (funny, it was humor the week before, and the week before that, and the week before…)

Copyright โ€“ Marie Gail Stratford

Copyright โ€“ Marie Gail Stratford

 
One Man’s Fortune is Another Man’s Misfortune

Got laid off from my job slatherin’ ribs at Red’s Barbecue.
Didn’t know what I’d do next. But I had a wit and a sharp tongue.
Picked up work at the local chopstick labeling company, ‘cept I can’t write.
I’d jest tell the dude somethin’, and he’d type into that thar labeler.

He’d gussy it up fortune-cookie style.
But one time, he changed it ’round completely.

I said:

“Happiness is a side of pork, people.”

He typed:

“It is happiness enough to know that one is superior to the fork people.”

Fork people? Needless to say, I quit.
Hell, I don’t know what that meant, but it sounded too nasty fer me.

Randy Mazie

47 thoughts on “Ah, What is Happiness, Grasshopper? Friday Fictioneer

  1. Perhaps the typist is losing his hearing, and not gussying it up at all. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Nice tale. I hope he finds some more satisfying work in the near future.

    • Happy for laughs, always,
      Chinese people funny people.
      When they say fork people, they mean fork people – kosher or otherwise.

      PS this guy couldn’t write fortunes for cookies, because he couldn’t handle the way the unfortunate ways that the cookie crumbles.

      Sayonara.
      randy-san

  2. Good one Randy. I guess he just didn’t have a forking sense of humour ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol. Loved the pace and light comedic feel in your story.

    Cheers.

    • As in Monty Hall Let’s Make a Deal? Or FDR’s New Deal?
      or are you just sitting around playing poker and accidentally typed what you were saying to your compadres?
      Anyways, do you deal in half deals?
      I prefer big deals – which, as you can see, I making this.
      Ha.

      Randy

      BTW thanks for commenting… loved the words you dealt me.

  3. Okay —- forkingtastic this is!

    Loved it — the entire voice, narration, style, wit … and dang, now I’m hungry for ribs – cause mine have been tickled ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (groaning in bad penned punmenship)

    Seriously … ribs …. must consider ribs …. Sweet and Sour perhaps?

  4. For the Chinese, happiness is a side of pork and is it kosher to say that about fork people? ๐Ÿ™‚ This grasshopper is still finding her way…

    Lily

    • Dear grasshopper,
      For a happy side of pork, go to Red’s Barbecue.
      For kosher side of pork, must speak with Rabbi Roshi.
      Is it kosher to say, happiness is a side of pork to fork people?
      I don’t think that really that forks people at all – whether kosher or not.
      What really forks people is three (or four) stainless steels tines in the flesh.
      Hope that answers all of your questions, grasshopper.

      Now, please, a job for my protagonist would be much appreciated….
      Randy

  5. Randy, I think just about everything, and I do mean everything, has been said in the above comments. I’m aftaid I don’t have a job for you protagonist. I’m sure he’ll find something as he has you for a friend. I’m sure you’re working for his best interests. Humorous and well written. ๐Ÿ™‚ —Susan

    • Really?
      Wanna leave Melanie and be with me? Or better yet, why donโ€™t you, me and Melanieโ€ฆ well, weโ€™ll talk later.

      Just ribbingโ€ฆ. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for commenting. Hope youโ€™re having fun.
      Randy

Have some fun...

