Be Careful What You Pray For: VisDare 30

What do you pray for?

VisDare at Anonymous Legacy – 150 word story to accompany the visual prompt.
 
 

Reposted from VisDare 30 at the Anonymous Legacy

Reposted from VisDare 30 at the Anonymous Legacy

Be Careful What You Pray For

I did the best thing I knew to do when I lost my job – I prayed. I know now that I prayed all wrong.

I asked God for help. I asked Him for employment. I asked if He could see His way through to give me a job that I could work my up to the head of something. I prayed that I might end up the main man at the top of the pack.

I was kidding, naturally, but too late…

He came roaring back with this. It was probably the word “main” that got twisted up in prayer.

It’s a good thing I didn’t ask Him to give me the strength to claw my way to the top. I can only imagine what He might have put me through.

I will be extra careful what I pray for in the future. That is, if I have one…

Randy Mazie

5 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Pray For: VisDare 30

  1. ha — I started praying to sell my house about five years ago, and then my company was bought by another company and out of 1,500 people I was one of 100 to receive an offer to go to the new city. They offered to buy the old house and help find a new one.

    I moved, but didn’t sell the house. And have spent almost five years split between cities, a stranger in a strange land 🙂

  2. Great story, I enjoyed it very much. Some people think God doesn’t have a sense of humour. I know for a fact He does. Sometimes He gives us exactly what we ask for – literally, and sometimes He gives us what our hearts ask for.

Have some fun...

