Dashing Hopes: Picture It and Write (or Read It and Weep)

What times we live in…

Picture It and Write from ermiliablog@wordpress
Write fiction or a poem to accompany the image or anything you wish to write about.

The picture prompt for this week is below:
woman-reading-by-a-lake

Dashing Hopes

This was the last time I had seen my daughter, Michelle, as wonderfully relaxed and as beautiful as she looked since she graduated college. This picture was taken a short while after she graduated. She had great hopes. We, my wife and I, had great hopes for her, too.

But there were no jobs. There were thousands of dollars worth of debts though. She began to worry, and rightly so. We worried along with her, but said nothing.

She would cry on my wife’s shoulder at night, and Susan would do the best she could to comfort her. All those years, the promise of a bright future we had painted for her, and what has it come to. I have such a heavy heart. I hate to see her like this.

It’s not as if she hasn’t tried to get a job. There just aren’t any to be had. She’s lowered her expectations and tried for the jobs that only pay ten dollars an hour, and are only part-time, without any medical benefits or sick leave. She comes home and tells us that even these are only temp jobs. She’s taken a few of them when offered. I see her putting on her happy face, but in her quiet moments she tells us how demoralizing they are; and I see how sad she has become.

Although she is my main concern, my heart grows heavier every day because I read the papers, I hear her talk about her friends’ struggles, and I hear other parents despairing about how difficult it is for their children out there. What is happening to our world? How long can this go on?

I want the kids to take to the streets. I want to take to the streets. It is not right what is happening to our country, to the world. It is not right to see our kids struggling like this. It is not right even when they do have jobs that our children can’t afford decent housing, our grandchildren can’t get medical attention, afford electric bills, car insurance, life insurance, and so much more.

My grandparents, my parents, wanted the best for me. I need to do something to help the children.

Randy Mazie

15 thoughts on “Dashing Hopes: Picture It and Write (or Read It and Weep)

  1. It is really very hard to find a decent job today. If you want one you have to spend millions and years of schooling. In those years you will find that you miss half of your life working. 😦

  2. I heard on the news today an average med student graduates $200,000 in debt! I was about $90,000 when I graduated (computer science).

    I don’t see this as the down side at all, Randy. I think it shows your great love and devotion. No matter how hard it is, that’s beautiful! ♥

    • Thank you, Annie. As you know, I tend to write a little more on the light, humorous side – so I felt a need to forewarn… There is a great crisis brewing in this country and across the world…

  3. Touching. This is an ever increasing problem. When I graduated (a while ago) it was already IMPOSSIBLE to get graduate level jobs – about 1% probably managed it from each university. My 1st job was full time (before days of minimum wage and I made £7k p/a – and I didn’t move home so I had rent and bills etc to cover too!) I had a better job at 16.

    We left with debt even back then – it has taken over a decade to pay it back!

    I can only imagine the problems of young graduates today and that age-old catch 22 – no experience – no job.

    • Thank you for commenting and sharing your experience. Yes, it took me ten years to pay back my school loans. And I had to eat by lots of times. But there were jobs, the was medical and dental insurance, there was retirement, and overall living was, percentage-wise, manageable. Rent was a quarter of your monthly salary, not a third to a half. And I could go on, but I think we already know what is happening today.

      Somebody do something!

  4. Hi Randy, you certainly wrapped up the current economic struggles well. We’re told to go to college and get an education to get the good jobs, but I have friends who went to law school or medical school who are struggling to find jobs. At least I graduated only 40k in debt. What a sad world it is when “only 40k” is actually a blessing.

Have some fun...

