Where is this Road that Leads Me Home?

When ya need forgiveness, when ya need your sins washed away, ya just can’t get home fast enough to Him…

In response to The Mag – write a poem or short vignette…

Wind of History by Jacek Yerka

Wind of History by Jacek Yerka

Where is this Road that Leads Me Home?

My vehicle in muddied chrome;
The sodden field, the deadened loam.
There is no road that leads me home.

Where is the way back to my start?

The spinning tires, my bouncing heart.
To steer the wheel is craft, not art.
Where is the way, a map, a chart?

I must, I must, retrieve my soul.

Fly through this mire, speed up the knoll
Forsake the car, race towards the goal
This house, my home, will shield my soul.

Muddled in muck I slither in.

Embrace each room that I lived within
Rose memories again begin
With fragrance washing clean my sin

The dirt-filled way that brought me here

No road at all, a path of fear,
A pasture fallow, curves severe.
A repentant son’s plea for grace, austere.

Randy Mazie

4 thoughts on “Where is this Road that Leads Me Home?

Have some fun...

