House Hunting: Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers – Madison Woods posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.
For Info, click here.
This week it’s:

photo-by-Raina-Ngsmall


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


House Hunting

Lovely kitchen.
Dark, no?
Maybe. I like the wood.
Nice windows. Still, dark.
What about that wood breakfront?
Interesting.
And all those antique-y collectibles on it.
Different.
But still, it’s dark.
I think so.
What’s with those Japanese lanterns up there?
The broker must have thought they’d brighten up the room a little.
Very odd.
Yeah.
I can’t decide whether this is a sushi restaurant or an old-fashioned corn bread kitchen.
Let’s go check out the next house.
OK, but let’s get some lunch first. I’m hungry.
Fine, but make it someplace with light and nothing oriental, please!

Randy Mazie

52 thoughts on “House Hunting: Friday Fictioneers

  1. When I just glanced at the title, I thought it said “House Haunting”, so I kept waiting for the ghostly punchline. 🙂 Since we’re getting our house ready (little by little) to put on the market, this struck close to home although, even though our house may have other downsides to potential buyers, darkness is not one of them!! The house has huge windows, one of the features that grab us those many years ago.

  2. At a guess, I’d say they don’t like it. It is a bit dark though… Nice dialogue, one that must be heard a thousand times over amongst the house-hunting fraternity.

  3. It is dark, isn’t it? But the windows could be thrown open and the lights lit. Perhaps you should give it a second look. Maybe even cook lunch there. Nice story, though, wherever you end up living.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. It’s like you were inside my head when I was looking at this photo. What is with those lanterns? A party? Bad taste? Who knows…It’s so neat and dark as well…..Believable dialogue. A fine piece of work!

    • Thank you. I like being in my head but I usually believe that what’s in my head is usually in everyone else’s too to one degree or another. I think that is how reading becomes a conversation for us. I’m there in your thoughts, you’re in mine.

      Anyways, I think it is too dark but yes, so neat.

    • wow. Aren’t you the broker telling me how to do my kitchen to remake it to my liking’

      Sounds like the suit that is 2 sizes too big but the tailor is holding the jacket in the back swearing that it fits just perfect.
      Hey – and we agreed to nothing oriental. OY!

  5. Having bought a house just three months ago, that conversation feels very familiar! Btw, I’m personally thinking sushi restaurant. 🙂

    Nicely done.

  6. It reminds me of those restuarants where they intentionally keep it dark. Why are those noodles squirming? What are those crunchy things in the salad–I could have swore one of them bit back. Oh well, think of it as extra protein.

  7. House hunters seem to have so little imagination these days – or are they just justifying their emotional reaction with rationalisation? Great capturing of the conversation.

    • When my wife and I looked for houses, yes we imagined what we could do with them but the one we bought was “perfect”, we fell in love with it as is, and didn’t have to imagine anything to change.

      Buying a house is like a good relationship, shouldn’t have to change a lot (at least I think, but some people like re-creating things). I prefer simple.

      Thanks for the comment on capturing the conversation. Randy

  8. Funny, cause I was watching House Hunters yesterday. You need to let the architects let you know what THEY could do with the room. It was dark, though. I wouldn’t want that kitchen either.

  9. I haven’t been house hunting before, so my comments may or may not be helpful. 🙂
    I was surprised that they were considering the antique-y collectibles at all. Presumably they wouldn’t be coming with the house. (Although I have heard buyers often suffer a lack of imagination when it comes to mentally placing their own things in a new space.)

    It was also interesting that they started out on opposite sides and then seemed to grow together in their opinion (Character 1 from “Lovely kitchen.” to “But still, it’s dark.”) instead of the one who liked it creating a more argumentative case for considering it as a real option (“If we removed the shutters and used a brighter color.” etc.). I would have loved to see someone wondering how hard it would be to remove the lanterns. 🙂

    I did enjoy the format, but I can see how the dialogue might be mistaken for poetry. 🙂

    I hope they got their food at “corn bread kitchen”—that would be a neat sort of a “decision” on their part! 🙂

Have some fun...

