It’s a Dog’s Life: Five Sentence Fiction

Lillie Mcferrin posts a “five sentence fiction” prompt.
This week it is: Devotion
Below is the picture she has posted on her site:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

It’s a Dog’s Life

Hey, this guy, who the other dogs in the pound tell me is going to be my “master”, seems nice but I thought I was on my way to stardom.

You see, I was into modeling and my agent recently told me that with these puppy dog eyes of mine that I was in the running for the new poster dog for Purina.

And a college had contacted him to take me on as their mascot, and I could have been a very cool college canine who mom would have been so proud.

Then there was that new updated version of Lassie that I heard that I might have been cast in, and again please excuse my alliteration of a canine casting call for which my agent was campaigning contentiously on my behalf and I had no interest in barking down or backing off (or is it barking off and backing down) or capitulating.

But no, this guy comes along, brings me home, feeds me, lets me sleep in his bed, walks me, scratches me, bathes and combs me, and all I got to do is look him in the face with these gorgeous puppy dog eyes of mine and he’s going Lady ga-ga over me, which, I guess, is really a great starring role in life for me to play, being like the spot on (no pun intended) true pampered star that I am and deserve to be – it’s truly a dog’s life!

Randy Mazie

16 thoughts on “It’s a Dog’s Life: Five Sentence Fiction

  1. There’s something truly engaging about a story written from an animal’s point of view, and you nailed it here, alliteration and all! Great stuff – made me smile.

  2. I love the way you wrote that! Dogs have a such a great life when they’re with the right people, just wish they could all know that kind of devotion. I was never a dog person, but when we got our shepherd, I just fell head over heels…I guess the devotion works both ways!

Have some fun...

