Overheard at Ye Olde Celebrity Tavern – Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers – Madison Woods posts a pic to write a 100 word story about.
For Info, click here.
This week it’s:

copyright-Rochelle-Wishoff-Fields


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Overheard at Ye Olde Celebrity Tavern

Sally tacked up a Halloween spider web, and conversation started suddenly:

Tarzan: Boy, I hated spider webs!
Chimp: Ha! You’d slap at your face trying to get them off, then thump your chest, and howl.
J. Edgar Hoover: We used them to torture spies. And Chimp, where is your security clearance to be here?
Sir Walter Scott: Hoover… Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.
Freud: It’s called araneophobia; deception is pathological lying.
Gore: I invented it.
Freud: Lying?
Sally: No, the web.
“Just have another drink, Al, and shut up!” They all shouted.

Randy Mazie

35 thoughts on “Overheard at Ye Olde Celebrity Tavern – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Hmmm, while reading that last comment, I thought you wrote, “You are a very bright person, Randy.” Not that I would except you to do something that overt….cough, cough. 🙂 What a difference punctuation makes.

    Anyway, back to my regularly scheduled comments. How boring to add I loved it and you were spot on with your comments, especially about Al. Perhaps you could have worked in “Sally tacked up a Halloween spider web, and conversation started suddenly when they spied her” . And I was kind of expecting Spider Man, although that might have been too easy.

    Seriously, (if that word can be used here), thanks for an out-loud laugh!!

    • Me overt? My subtlety always precedes me and then secedes from me.
      “Seriously,” would have been Rodney Dangerfield, I think. Or, was it Henny Youngman, with “Seriously, take my wife?”
      And I considered Spidey, but as you wrote, it was too there.
      And I must say, after reading the way you worked your non-comments into your text, what a bright person you are, too(in addition to me). 😉 Thanks, Randy

  2. in fairness to mr. gore, he never claimed to have invented the internet. he said he created the term “information superhighway.” it was a GOP spin that created the falsehood.

Have some fun...

